Two new exhibits in The Charles Kratz Scranton Heritage Room

The 30th Anniversary of the Weinberg Memorial Library briefly presents the history of libraries on campus and showcases the planning, building and opening of the Weinberg Memorial Library, the dedication of the library featured an address by James Billington, Librarian of Congress. The exhibit also highlights the library’s core instructional mission and the scope of library programming during the past 30 years. The exhibit will run through December 17, 2022.

Going Coeducational: Women on Campus 1923-1972 presents the history of women’s educational opportunities on campus starting with Nellie Brown, the first woman to take a class at what was then St.Thomas College in 1923, through women taking evening classes starting in the mid-1930s, women being admitted to the new graduate school in 1950, and culminating in the University going fully coeducational in 1972. The exhibit focuses on the move to coeducation starting in 1970. The University delayed implementing coeducation due to objections from Marywood, a women’s college at the time. The two institutions attempted to create a cooperative educational environment where students could take classes at either school. After a year, however, both institutions realized that the attempt at cooperation was not succeeding and the University went fully coeducational in Spring 1972. This exhibit is based on research conducted by Kathleen Reilly ’17 for her Honors Thesis Girls at the “U”: A History of Coeducation at the University of Scranton. The exhibit will run until April 23, 2023.